Karen Gillan Dancing to We Dem Boyz

17Nov14

A few weeks ago it was announced that ABC would be canceling Selfie. I never watched it. Hell, I don’t think I ever really heard about it except for a bus ad I drive passed on my way home from work. All I know is that it starred Karen Gillan, AKA the blue evil chick from Guardians of the Galaxy/Chick who ate a lightbulb cause of that freaky mirror in Oculus and that John Cho, AKA Harold from Harold and Kumar do stuff and the new George Takei in the new Star Trek movies.

If it helps here’s the overview from wikipedia:

The series follows the life of Eliza Dooley, a woman obsessed with the idea of achieving fame through the use of social media platforms, including Instagram where she posts selfies. She begins to worry that “friending” people online is not a substitute for real friendship, and she seeks help from Henry Higgs, a marketing image guru.

The character names are a reference to Eliza Doolittle and Henry Higgins, the main characters of the 1912 George Bernard Shaw play Pygmalion, further popularized by the 1956 musical My Fair Lady. In the play and musical, Henry is tasked with improving Eliza’s social status, and ends up succeeding all too well; an eventual romantic relationship between the two is hinted at, but never shown.

This was one of those things I probably would have gotten into eventually if I only saw a single episode. Unfortunately it’s too late for me now. Maybe I can binge watch it on Netflix like I did with Don’t Trust the B**** in Apartment 23

Hell, I will sit through it just so I can see this scene of Karen Gillan trying to seduce John Cho by shaking it to Wiz Khalifa’s “We Dem Boyz.”

No Responses Yet to “Karen Gillan Dancing to We Dem Boyz”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

