Samurai Josh at San Diego Comic Con

24Jul15

Like I said in my last blog, I somehow managed to win tickets to San Diego Comic Con. It was my first time going and even though I only had 1 day passes it was still a pretty freakin’ cool experience. I gave my spare ticket to one of my coworkers cause I kinda pissed her off. Anyway we had saw a lot of cool stuff and a lot of cool people and had a lot of fun. Also since it was my first time at Comic Con I made sure to bring a camera and take a crapton of pictures.

Check em’ out.

IMG_3518
IMG_3519

Here is some of the signage I saw outside the San Diego Convention Center.

IMG_3522
While walking to go get my actual pass I saw this remote-control replica of R2D2 so I figured I was going in the right direction.

IMG_3523
IMG_3524
Some flyers for Penny Dreadful and Game of Thrones that they had hanging in the badge pick up area.

IMG_3527
Once I got into the exhibition hall the first thing that caught my eye were these models of Raiden looking the way he did in Metal Gear Solid 4/Metal Gear Rising: Revegeance.

IMG_3532
Here is the lego sculpture of the cast of Scooby Doo and Mystery Inc. in front of the Mystery Machine. In the days leading up to Comic Con I found the time-lapse video of this getting put together which took like 540something hours

IMG_3534
IMG_3535
IMG_3536
IMG_3537
Saw the costumes for Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman for the upcoming Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice.

IMG_3538
This is what the Walking Dead booth looked like. I think it was good timing I walked passed it while a guy dressed up as Rick was going through it.

IMG_3541
IMG_3540

Anybody want to buy a Star Wars or Star Trek costume? I overheard the guy running the booth talking pricing, the rebel flight suit starts at like 1400 bucks.

IMG_3542
Some really cool motorcycle suits done up to look like Batman suits. They looked really convincing. If it wasn’t for the fact that up close you could see that they don’t have any hard armor plates  you would think these were movie costumes.

IMG_3543
Some figurines from Ashley Wood’s String Divers

IMG_3545
Some more Ashley Wood figurines from what I think are from World War Robot, with the one on the far left from what I think is Popbot.

IMG_3546
These guys also had some Marvel figurines.

IMG_3547
And a Stormtrooper and some rule 63-themed Star Wars stuff.

IMG_3548
IMG_3549
Saw some Power Rangers. I think these guys are from the newest series? I don’t know. I haven’t watched Power Rangers in years. Note: those aren’t me or people I know they’re just some people who got the Power Rangers to stand still and pose to take a picture so I used that as my opportunity to snap a shot.

IMG_3555
I saw some Iron Man figurines.

IMG_3556
IMG_3559
Along with some Mega Man and Gundam stuff.

IMG_3560
Some Attack on Titan cosplayers.

IMG_3561
A lifesize Mega Man statue.

IMG_3567
Some more cosplayers. I think the woman is Wonder Woman. Not sure who bunny head is supposed to be though.

IMG_3568
Here we have a couple who decided to do a adventurer theme to their cosplay. We have Lara Croft from Tomb Raider and Nathan Drake from Uncharted.

IMG_3569
A Captain America and Winter Soldier.

IMG_3572
Lego Hulk vs. Lego Iron Man in Lego Hulkbuster armor.

IMG_3573
We have a dude who dressed up as Silent Bob. True to Silent Bob he did not speak, only nodded when I asked him if I could take his picture. Also the guy did not move. All throughout the day we walked around and every time we walked passed his spot he was still there. That is dedication and I didn’t think of this till now but I really hope the guy didn’t have a pee bottle hidden in his coat somewhere.

IMG_3574
Some more Ashley Wood designed figurines. These ones are from Acid Rain.

IMG_3576
Apparently old-school Power Rangers are still relevant. I remember I had some of these when I was a kid.

IMG_3578
Look! It’s Russell, the kid from Up and the house from Up.

IMG_3581
Some really expensive Final Fantasy plush dolls from Play Arts

IMG_3582
IMG_3583
IMG_3589
Some Metal Gear Solid V: Phatom Pain statues also from Play Arts.

IMG_3584
Play Arts also had some Kingdom Hearts stuff. I don’t know if you can make out the price tags but those keychains are like 20 bucks a pop.

IMG_3585
Some Final Fantasy Play Arts statues.

IMG_3586
A close up on Barrett Wallace cause I thought he looked the coolest.

IMG_3594
Play Arts also had some alternate universe Batmans. You have Samurai and some other armored Batman.

IMG_3595
Crazy-looking demon from hell Batman…? I dunno. That’s what he looks like.

IMG_3596
And cowboy Batman, with Spartan Batman on the left.

IMG_3598
Somebody in a N7 costume decided to pose in the My Little Pony booth.

IMG_3599
The giant-ass Devastator.  I remember seeing this thing on a blog in the days leading up to Comic Con and I just thought, “Holy shit I have to have it. It looks so freakin’ badass.” Luckily for me they still had some in stock so I got one. Probably wasn’t the smartest way to spend 200 bucks but I think it was worth it.

IMG_3600
A diorama with Devastator versus a bunch of Autobots.

IMG_3602
IMG_3605

Some of the Batman gadgets which I think are going to be used in Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice.

IMG_3604
I think this is supposed to be the grapple gun. I think it looks like a gun from some steampunk-universe.

IMG_3603
I’m like 99% sure this is a real Fabrique Nationale EGLM 40mm grenade launcher.

IMG_3606
They also had a cowl on display.

IMG_3608
Here’s the Arrow costume from Arrow.

IMG_3612
I’m not sure what netmarble is I just know that people wanted to take pictures with this thing.

IMG_3614
It’s the cast of Zoolander. It took me a double take to realize the kid dressed as Derek Zoolander is doing Magnum… or Blue Steel…? Or Le Tigre…? Or Ferrari…?

IMG_3615
Back wall of the DC booth. If you look towards the right you can see a guy dressed up as Slade Wilson/Deathstroke. I shit you not this dude stopped and stood in front of the wall right in front of Deathstroke for a few minutes before walking off. I think the guy just desperately wants people to take his picture.

IMG_3616
The other back wall of the DC booth.

IMG_3620
The Dark Horse booth was hyping Fight Club 2.

IMG_3628

A really good Captain America cosplayer. The dude freakin’ looks like Chris Evans.

IMG_3632
Surprisingly this was the only dude who decided to cosplay as a scantily-clad female. For people who don’t recognize the outfit, he’s Milla Jovovich’s character, Leeloo, from The Fifth Element.

IMG_3635
While waiting in at a Subway for lunch I saw the Black Widow and John Snow.

IMG_3642
Old-school Scarlet Witch with a redneck/civilian clothes Wolverine.

IMG_3643
Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver from Avengers: Age of Ultron. I’m pretty sure Scarlet Witch is annoyed she doesn’t have a cool pose like Quicksilver does.

IMG_3644
I’m guessing we have rule 63 Robin, Owl Man, hipster Joker, Black Mask, and Red Hood…? I’m not sure on the last 2.

IMG_3645
I think this guy is supposed to be the guy on the movie poster to the movie You’re Next.

IMG_3646
Apparently future Static from that one episode of Static Shock/Justice League Unlimited is still relevant.

IMG_3658
Even with all that was going on I did manage sit in on the Seth Macfarlane panel which was really fun.

IMG_3659
IMG_3664
IMG_3678
Seth brought out his Family Guy costars Miss Swan herself, Alex Borstein and Seth Green, along with the guy who played Cleveland and Herbert, the creepy old pedophile.

IMG_3684
He also brought out the cast of American Dad minus the guy who voices Klaus, the fish and his sister Rachel Macfarlane who apparently just had a baby.

After the Seth Macfarlane panel was over I walked around the exhibition hall some more.

IMG_3704
That’s when I saw this chick dressed up as a Togruta Jedi.

IMG_3705
I also saw a really good Captain Jack Sparrow.

IMG_3706
Walking around artist alley I saw one of my favorite comic book artists, David Mack.

After walking around for a good 7 hours without spending money I finally caved and went over to the Kid Robot booth.

IMG_3708
I really regret not buying this one but it was like 110 bucks, and instead I bought 2 8″ figurines which cost as much as just 1 of these things.

IMG_3709
While I was waiting for my coworker who came to Comic Con with me I saw this baseball-themed Batgirl.

IMG_3712
This time I went through the Walking Dead booth to get the full zombie experience. After recreating the revolving door scene that killed Noah, the crippled kid and seeing the melted zombie corpses they had you exit through the Wolves trailer of zombies.

IMG_3719
At this point I was exploring more booths where I saw this chick. I swear I’ve seen her on like theChive and all these other convention-themed blog posts where she’s always dressed the same.

IMG_3727
I saw a life-sized Furbacca. I also really wish I was smart enough to take a step back to get the Furbacca sign in frame.

IMG_3730
While wandering around I saw this Spartan-themed couple.

IMG_3732
Then while waiting at the Top Cow booth to get a picture of Marc Silvestri I saw Tank Girl posing with some kid with an afro, Gandalf and I don’t know who’s on the far left.

IMG_3733
I also saw the Spawn guy, Todd Macfarlane. At the time he was busy autographing action figures so I snapped a ninja picture of him. I did however eventually get to meet him and take a picture with him. He’s a really cool dude.

IMG_3734
These Ninja Turtle statues looked pretty badass.

IMG_3739
I saw this really good Mai Shiranui cosplayer. I really wish she wasn’t holding the fan that way cause she had really huge boobs which made her Mai Shiranui costume even more accurate.

IMG_3742
I saw some Ice Climbers. When I asked for a picture the guy asked me if I knew who they were first. I wonder if I was the only one who knew.

IMG_3743
Marc Silvestri was too busy doing a sketch for a fan so I ended up settling for taking a ninja picture of him.

IMG_3747
After leaving the hall we saw some Walking Dead dudes posing for pictures outside.

IMG_3750
These dudes who were playing the Thundercats were really annoying cause they caused a huge traffic jam of people right outside.

IMG_3751
On my way back to the car we saw the Call of Duty: Black Ops III Zombie Escape Room challenge. I really wish I remembered they had this cause I would have really wanted to to go through it.

Anyway that was my first year at Comic Con. Even though I won my tickets off the radio I was told I can now preregister for next year so you can bet your ass that I’ll be there  and I’ll have more stuff when next year’s Comic Con rolls around.



No Responses Yet to “Samurai Josh at San Diego Comic Con”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment